GCISD announces new Director of Fine Arts

David Zahrndt, former Colleyville Heritage High School director of bands, is returning to Grapevine-Colleyville ISD as the new Director of Fine Arts. Trustees approved the recommendation at the regular meeting on Monday, April 24.
"Due to my experience in GCISD as a teacher, I know first hand the district's commitment to excellence in fine arts and the outstanding support the arts receive in this community," Zahrndt said. "I am excited about returning to GCISD as the Director of Fine Arts and I am eager to get started on the important work of supporting our fine arts students and staff."
Zahrndt left Colleyville Heritage High School in 2013 when he was named the Director of Fine Arts in Red Oak ISD. Prior to teaching at CHHS, Zahrndt served as the associate director and then director of bands at R.L. Turner High School in Carrollton-Farmers Branch from 2002-2010. He began his career in 1999 in DeSoto ISD as the assistant director of bands for one year before taking the same position at Red Oak High School in 2000.
The search for a fine arts director began in the fall semester. When the district did not find a permanent leader for students and staff, Danny Prado, former Grapevine High School assistant band director, was brought in to serve in the interim.
"Anytime that we have a former student or staff member return to the district it is a great day in GCISD," said Superintendent Dr. Robin Ryan. "We have one of the best fine arts programs in the State of Texas and it was important that we find the right leader for these talented students and staff. I am excited to have Mr. Zahrndt in this new role as he will be able to serve students in kindergarten through twelfth grade and across the district."
Zahrndt received his bachelor of music education from the University of Louisville and a masters in music, trombone performance, music education from the University of North Texas. Recently, Zahrndt also completed his masters in education, educational leadership and policy studies from the University of Texas at Arlington. His first day with the district will be May 15, 2017.